COUNCIL

Monday, 10 October 2022

Present:	Chair	The Civic Mayor (Councillor Jeff Green) in the Chair Deputy Civic Mayor (Councillor Jerry Williams)		
Councillors	J Laing T Anderson S Bennett D Burgess-Joyce I Camphor C Carubia P Cleary M Collins H Collinson C Cooke T Cox A Davies C Davies G Davies L Fraser S Foulkes A Gardner P Gilchrist	H Gorman N Graham K Greaney J Grier A Hodson K Hodson J Hoey J Johnson C Jones T Jones M Jordan S Kelly B Kenny D Kenny I Lewis J McManus P Martin	D Mitchell S Mountney Y Nolan C O'Hagan O Osanlou S Percy C Povall S Powell-Wilde L Rennie J Robinson P Stuart Jason Walsh S Williams V Wilson G Wood A Wright	
<u>Apologies</u>	ľ	J Bird M Booth A Brame H Cameron	E Gleaves P Hayes A Onwuemene T Smith	

30 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Civic Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting and those watching the webcast. He then asked Members to consider whether they had any disclosable pecuniary and/or any other relevant interest in connection with any matters to be determined at this meeting and, if so, to declare it and state the nature of such interest.

P Connolly

T Elzeiny

Joe Walsh

J Williamson

Councillor Chris Jones declared a disclosable pecuniary interest in relation to item 3a, as she was married to Adrian Jones. The Civic Mayor confirmed that there was a standard dispensation in relation to any business that relates to any ceremonial honour given to one or more Members and as such Councillor Jones would not be regarded as having a prejudicial interest.

31 CIVIC MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Civic Mayor announced that apologies had been received from Councillors Jo Bird, Max Booth, Allan Brame, Helen Cameron, Paul Connolly, Tracy Elzeiny, Emily Gleaves, Paul Hayes, Amanda Onwuemene, Tony Smith, Joe Walsh and Janette Williamson.

32 CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN/ALDERWOMAN

There were three former Councillors who were nominated for conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman.

33 ADRIAN JONES

The Council considered the recommendations from the Regulatory and General Purposes Committee held on 27 September 2022 (minute 7 refers) in relation to the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Adrian Jones, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The report informed that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provided that the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman might be conferred by the Council on persons who were persons of distinction and/or who had, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the place or area. The title was to be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting on it at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose.

It was moved by Councillor Paul Stuart and seconded by Councillor Andrew Hodson that the Council be recommended to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Adrian Jones in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Following speeches from Councillor Paul Stuart who recalled his close working relationship with Adrian Jones and his commitment to service Seacombe for over 27 years, as well as Councillor Andrew Hodson, the motion was put, and it was –

Resolved (unanimously) - That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillor Adrian Jones in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

34 MOIRA MCLAUGHLIN

The Council considered the recommendations from the Regulatory and General Purposes Committee held on 27 September 2022 (minute 7 refers) in relation to the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderwoman on former Councillor Moira McLaughlin, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The report informed that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provided that the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman might be conferred by the Council on persons who were persons of distinction and/or who had, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the place or area. The title was to be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting on it at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose.

It was moved by Councillor Andrew Hodson and seconded by Councillor Clare O'Hagan that the Council be recommended to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on former Councillor Moira McLaughlin in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Following a speech from Councillor Andrew Hodson who reminded the Council of Moira's important work in social services as cabinet member as well as her mayoral year of 2011-12, the motion was put, and it was –

Resolved (unanimously) - That the title of Honorary Alderwoman be conferred on former Councillor Moira McLaughlin in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

35 LES ROWLANDS

The Council considered the recommendations from the Regulatory and General Purposes Committee held on 27 September 2022 (minute 7 refers) in relation to the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Les Rowlands, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The report informed that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provided that the title of Honorary Alderman or Honorary Alderwoman might be conferred by the Council on persons who were persons of distinction and/or who had, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the place or area. The title was to be conferred by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting on it at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose.

It was moved by Councillor Paul Stuart and seconded by Councillor Andrew Hodson that the Council be recommended to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Les Rowlands in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Following a speech from Councillor Andrew Hodson, recalling Les' long service to Heswall, his mayoral year of 2015-16 and his passion for entertainment, the motion was put, and it was –

Resolved (unanimously) - That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillor Les Rowlands in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.